The Merchant's House and Marlborough Museum
The House of Thomas Bayly 1653
Built after the great fire of 1653 by Thomas Bayly, a prosperous silk merchant, the Merchant’s House opens for tours and also houses a small museum. There are rare and unique wall paintings and decorative features, and the house has been restored to reflect 17th century living at its finest. Behind the house is a 17th century garden. The Merchant’s House is an outstanding destination for anyone interested in fine old buildings and/or history. The shop on the High Street contains some lovely treats, including Marlborough souvenirs. It is staffed by volunteers and all profits go back into the maintenance and restoration of the house.
The house is open for guided tours: see the website for details. Group visits are welcomed all year round by prior arrangement. The Museum is open April to December. For opening days, times and more information please see the website
132 High Street, Marlborough SN8 1HN http://www.themerchantshouse.co.uk/